The Seven Books of the Diana


Categoría: Etiqueta:

Los Siete Libros de la Diana (The Seven Books of the Diana) by Jorge de Montemayor, has as a precedent the eglogues of Garcilaso de la Vega and Spanish pastoral poetry. La Diana is distinguished by being written in a mixture of verse and prose and by unifying various «environments» in the same story. Among others, it includes the pastoral environment, the supernatural, the urban and even the Moorish. The Arab family of the Abencerrajes was very influential in Granada during the 15th century. His rivalry with that of the Cegríes, in constant civil wars, was decisive in the fall of the kingdom of Granada. This story was incorporated into the Diana de Jorge de Montemayor in its second edition of 1561.

(Description has been translated into English, Book edition is in Spanish)